Pride logo

This is the best one so far

How dad takes his son's coming out and turns it positive for his son

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
9
To me his dad should get the dad of the year award

In this video this lovely young boy told his father he was gay. I have seen many videos where the parents blow up at their child, yet again kick them out of the house. The father in video did everything in my opinion the right way. He asked non threatening questions like are you sure? When that was confirmed he sits on the bed next to his son and starts talking to him. He does as a father giving advice to his young son, while showing his son he loves and supports him. This is lovely and just what this boy needed at that time. You could tell he was nervous and even backed himself into a little corner.

Why do parents react one way over the other? Fear is one thing, pride is second and self interest.

When your only son tells you he is gay your first thought as it is for many other parents, great I won't get grandchildren from him or that's the end of the family name. Don't put all of this on your child, it took him a lot of tireless sleepless nights before he couldn't hold it in no more. A gay man can't suppress his feeling forever neither can a gay boy or girl. I know I've tried.

Parents whose pride is hurt because their child is gay needs to get over that. I was surprised when I saw this video and I think it is wonderful what they have done to embrace their son who is gay. This sounds like a unique idea for parents and the material maybe helpful to some. Like the father says nothing good grows in the dark. I am sure the church had a fit. The book for parents is called Embracing The Journey.

https://youtu.be/qqdhxv0sYB0

Why so much focus on this community? Because we are still harassed, bullied, threatened because of our life style. I am tired of seeing it happen to the youth, pick on someone your own size. Harvey Milk was assassinated because he supported gay rights in San Francisco.

Because I was forced to suppress my sexuality, instead of coming out at 19 as gay, I was 57 when I came out. This was one of the hardest things for me to do at that late age. My co-worker said you are gay and so did every other gay co-worker. I denied it at first finally after fifteen minutes of back and forth, I finally agreed and decided it was time for me to come to terms with my sexuality. I finally decided to make me happy for once and not my parents, family etc.

You have preachers out there who are so adamant against homosexuality they are almost homophobes. But what would they do if their child told them they were gay? They say love the person but not the sin. One such denomination that is very anti homosexuality would be the Independent Fundamental Baptist Churches. The pastor of one of the churches I attended as a kid was very anti homosexuality, until he caught his son and I in bed together having sex. Two weeks after this incident His son and I were called to his office. He talked to both of us and said he was still against it, but since his son was gay he wasn't going to kick him out of the house, then he embraced his son and said I love you.

I still say we must do more to help gay youth who have been kicked out of their houses by parents who lack love and sympathy. We need to take a negative and make it a positive for the child. Then we need to work with both sides to reach a reconciliation point, if there can be one.

Empowerment
9

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.