Pride logo

Asexuality on paper

Putting thoughts into words

By Dana HambletonPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Asexuality on paper
Photo by Jiroe (Matia Rengel) on Unsplash

I have no idea how to express my ideas. Even with all the millions of ideas running around in my head, I find it very difficult to put pen to paper... or fingers to keyboard...

So I thought, since I am new to this website, I would explore what other people are writing about.

I had an idea of what I would write about: My experiences as an LGBTQIA person. More specifically, as an asexual.

However, as I browsed through all the articles, I realised 2 things.

1. The last article on asexuality on this site was 5 months ago if we were to discount the one posted yesterday. Before that, there have been sparse posts on asexuality that have been spread over 6 years. Of course, the topic could have been talked about in other posts that don't have the 'asexual' keyword. But my first thought was, "Are we really that invisible?"

The answer, of course, is yes. This leads me to my next point:

2. Nearly every article I looked at started with a summary of what asexuality is. There is always some explanation or description of what this sexuality is and how it exists. This is something I have done in my own writing before as well and I understand why it is done. But that doesn't mean it isn't upsetting that it needs to be done in the first place. This allonormative society is so obsessed with sex that every person who lives without the innate sense of sexual attraction that everyone else has, has to explain themselves. Some even with dictionary definitions with citations just so they can prove to the reader that they aren't lying and that it exists.

That we exist.

Again, this is something that I have done as well. In fact, this is a reason why a lot of asexuals don't 'come out' like other people do. Because 'coming out' comes with the feeling of having to explain themselves with a dictionary definition and five citations as to how they are telling the truth that this is a real thing that they experience and that, no, I am not broken so please take me seriously.

*Deep breath*

Wow, that was a lot. It's so refreshing to write about these things since it is not spoken about much at all in everyday life. *happy sigh*

Anyway, I have been doing some research into asexuality. Mostly because of my own journey of realisation, but also because it's really interesting to see how other people realised themselves and how they interact with people who are allonormative.

Of course, these sites usually include things like Reddit or Pinterest, but I thought I would expand and try a different site (mostly because I wanted to try my hand at the writing challenges hehe).

But in general, this is why I have started writing. I want to expand the repertoire of asexual and even aromantic sources online and, ironically, to spread awareness of what these sexualities are and how they do exist in society. This might include my own experiences, how we are included in the LGBTQIA community (or not, depending on the person you ask), aromantic and asexual representation in media (this one sounds very exciting to me. So much to talk about with this one), and other wild things I might come up with.

Hopefully, I will be able to put my thoughts onto a page with the roadblock that is my mind getting in the way.

Please join me as I go on this journey of investigation into the spooky society that is filled with allonormativity and heteronormativity :D

CommunityIdentityCultureAdvocacy

About the Creator

Dana Hambleton

Likes reading fantasy and adventure but likes writing horror and general fiction :)

Please subscribe, give my stories a like, and maybe possibly give me a tip if you enjoyed it :D

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dana HambletonWritten by Dana Hambleton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.