Potent logo

Parents Who Smoke Weed

Sometimes you just need that toke.

By Jess CPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Marijuana, weed, green, pot, herb, ganja, whatever you want to call it, we all know what it is. Some hate it, some love it and some just don't really care about it, but most of us have tried it at least once in our lives.

I, personally, see nothing wrong with it. It relaxes you, makes you laugh, food tastes better–way better–and after a munch fest during a comedy movie, you'll eventually have a nice little nap. What's wrong with that? It's not like it's making you go into a psychotic rampage and chew people's faces off like some of those lovely drugs out there. I mean, seriously, what makes anyone want to try and take something that completely messes you up so badly that you have no damn clue what the hell is going on and are delusional? Not me! I still like to know what is going on around me and to be able to function like a normal, stressed out human being, thank you very much.

I've been smoking weed since I was 17 years old. I grew up around it; lots of members of my family smoke it on a daily basis and I grew up understanding it was something that helps people in different ways.

I mainly smoke it as a destresser and to help me sleep. Since I was 15 I started getting sleeping issues and I would refuse to take sleeping pills. I had seen what those things can do to people, and it terrified me. So, I tried smoking pot. Since then, it's all I've touched. I don't drink, I don't do other drugs, and I am fine with that.

There is nothing wrong with smoking a joint after your kids are in bed for the night. Just like a lot of parents who will have a glass of wine or a beer to unwind. I, myself, smoke a joint to relax me from a stressful day of working, commuting and being a mom. It doesn't affect my life at all and, to be honest, if I didn't smoke it, I'd be a stressed out mess with absolutely no patience.

It's a shame that there are so many people out there who are uneducated about this "drug" and think the worst of it when a majority of them probably consume alcohol which, in my personal opinion, I find much worse. I hear stories at work from people who are so thankful for marijuana and how much it has helped them in their lives.

The thing about this plant is that you don't need to smoke it and get high, there are other ways to consume it for health reasons where you don't get high but you get the medicinal purposes from it. For example, people who suffer from seizures can see a complete change when consuming the plant and sometimes it works even better than all those prescriptions they take– and those are legal.

So, why are people still afraid of marijuana? It's a plant that can help you, you can't overdose from it and it doesn't affect your organs like other drugs and alcohol can.

I support the use of marijuana in a responsible way and for anyone who would disagree, that's okay. We all have a right to our own personal opinions.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jess C

I'm a busy mother who works full time while trying to start my own business. Before having my son I used to love writing and now I never do. I'm hoping this can be a place I can start writing again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.