Families logo

Change Can Be a Good Thing

The Moment I Found Out I Was Pregnant

By Jess CPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

I never thought I'd be the person who had kids. Sure, I thought about the idea of maybe having a child and small family one day, but the other part of me didn't want to have to give up my "freedom" as some people would say.

It wasn't until 3 years ago on the same day my grandfather had died that we found out I was pregnant. I would never forget that day as it was by far the most difficult day of my life. I lost a man that practically raised me and now I had a surprise pregnancy on my hands and I didn't even know how to express my emotions. I was heartbroken for my loss, scared that I was creating life inside me and angry at myself all at the same time. I wasn't ready for this change in my life. I was only 25 years old and still had more of my life to figure out. There was no way that I could bring another life into this world when I didn't even know what I was doing with my own life or who I really was as a person. I couldn't stop telling myself that it wouldn't be fair to my baby.

I didn't have a very wonderful childhood. Yes, I did have some very good moments but I also had many, many awful moments growing up and I was afraid that I wouldn't be a good enough mother to my child because of it—I was judging myself before I even gave birth.

After spending the day comforting my grandmother, I decided to go home and do a pregnancy test. Low and be hold, within seconds, the double line appeared showing me that I was pregnant. I remember staring at my results in a haze of panic before turning my direction to the wall in front of me and began to repeatedly say "fuck!" over and over in a whisper. I was horrified. I wasn't ready to be a parent. I had debt, a job I hated, a shitty car and we lived in a small 2 bedroom apartment with a 75 lb dog and 2 cats.

I was scared to tell my fiancé I was pregnant, I didn't know how he would react. Would he want me to abort? Would he be excited or would he leave me if I decided I wanted to keep it? I didn't even know what I wanted to do. We weren't getting any younger and all my friends had children by the time we were 20, but I liked my life being childless. I liked having my pets and being able to come and go as I please. This was going to be one of the biggest decisions I would ever have to make that would change me and my life no matter what decision I made.

We had long discussions about our options and it came down to me not wanting to abort. Once I calmed down and let the reality sit in, I fell in love with my now son, even at only a few weeks. I knew it wasn't going to be easy and it was going to change my/our life forever, but I didn't want to live my life wondering "what if?"

My son is now 2 years old and I couldn't imagine my life without him. We still live in our 2 bedroom apartment with our pets, I have a better job that I love, I have a better car (thanks to the woman who ran a red light while I was pregnant—that will be another story to share) and I have a healthy, happy, crazy, drives-me-mental, toddler. I still struggle, I still have my break downs and my god do I ever miss my sleep, but what an amazing experience it all has been. I have learned that sometimes it's okay to accept change, even if it changes the things you are never ready for. It will make you a stronger person!

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Jess C

I'm a busy mother who works full time while trying to start my own business. Before having my son I used to love writing and now I never do. I'm hoping this can be a place I can start writing again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.