Potent logo

My Journey with Mary Jane

Ah, the Infamous Mary

By Kristina PaganPublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like
(I forgot what this strain was called. I should write it down next time.) 

*tsk tsk tsk* Where to begin? I guess we could start off at 13? Yeah, 13. I was freshly 13 years old when I picked up my first blunt. I had just turned 13 and the day after and I was at my best friends house sharing a blunt with a couple of other friends at the time. As most first experiences are, it was OK. It was an experience. Whoever had rolled it must've sucked at rolling because I didn't really feel anything. Or at least I thought I didn't. It was my first time smoking so I wasn't sure how I should feel. I remember there was about six or seven of us on this one blunt (I know, it's so many heads on one). But that's how you gotta roll when you have no money at 13. It was a few of us trying it out for the first time, so it was definitely memorable.

After that one experience I've had, I've been hooked ever since. We're inseparable.

At 15, I started developing serious back problems. I'd had back problems and serious migraines before that, but it was small things here and there so I never really paid it any mind. But it started becoming serious to the point where it was affecting my life. I was barely able to go to school in my senior year.

Of course I was smoking weed, but I wasn't smoking it everyday. It was more of maybe once or twice a week kind of thing. I think about it now, and I should've smoked way more weed than I was smoking. It definitely would've helped me with my daily pain. I did take medication for the pain, but it never helped.

I had unbearable migraines whenever I went out into daylight. Whenever I went to school, my back would tense up and sweat so badly. It was like I had just gotten out of the shower and my school shirt was soaked in sweat. I just couldn't do it. I don't know why, to this day. I don't know what was happening to me at the time, it just happened.

I went to doctors with my mom and I had my blood taken; they had done a sonogram on my head to check the blood flow, and everything was fine.

So I never found out what it was. But, I'll tell you this: it definitely sucked.

But to this day, my back problems have gotten a little worse, and now my mental illness has me suffering, too. I definitely feel like they've gotten worse because of my current job. But my mental illness and my back problems definitely stem from my childhood. Instead of using medication, I medicate by smoking marijuana. It helps both my back and my brain.

Does anyone else feel as though marijuana brings them to a middle ground? It definitely puts stability in my emotions and my body pain. It makes me feel better to be alive. It brings this amount of positivity that I don't think I'd ever be able to have unless I have a child or if I ever reach one of these crazy, unrealistic goals that I have in mind.

But I never would've thought that I would be living my life through this strain, this medicine, this...product. It's an amazing life changer and life saver. People really do underestimate its strong ability to change your outlook on things in a good way. But I can only speak for myself.

This magnificent strain has become something that will and has already started to replace medicine. It's a healthier alternative. "But with weed, there is no alternative" (thumbs up if you get that reference. If you don't, it's from a show called Disjointed on Netflix. Y'all should definitely watch it. It's amazing!).

I really do hope that people will give it a try. Even if you don't experience psychical pains, it could help with your mental thoughts. It could help if you have trouble trying to gain weight or vice versa. It definitely helps with sleep, exercise, creativity, or if you're just really bored and you need something to do: roll up.

health
Like

About the Creator

Kristina Pagan

"Let the creativity flow and follow it wherever it goes"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.