Poets logo

Your Victim

This poem is about the love-hate relationship that comes with eating disorders.

By SabrinaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Your Victim
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Dear ED,

-

I love you,

I hate you,

I want you,

I wanted to be rid of you.

-

I loved when people would say,

“You’re getting too skinny.”

I hated when I looked in a mirror

and I couldn't see what they saw.

I loved the feelings that you came with,

the weakness, the almost passing out,

being cold all the time, the hunger,

I hated the reactions, the guilt,

the pressure to eat, the concern.

-

They all said we weren’t healthy,

like a toxic person, or relationship,

but I felt healthy, and confident,

and happy, so it wasn't that bad,

was it?

They all saw the worst in you,

and no matter how much I defended you,

no one saw the strength behind it all.

-

On days like these, I miss you like hell.

I want back the reward you came with,

but without the risk and pain.

I had both for a while, why'd you have to leave?

Because now I'm stuck!

Stuck between wanting you

and being happy you're gone!

Stuck with the pain that you planted

and has stayed till this very day!

-

I hate you.

I love you.

I don’t need you.

but I want you. Back.

-

Sincerely,

Your Victim

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Sabrina

Everything I want to say has been said before in some way,

but that will not and could not keep me silent.

So come read the things I have to say,

in a way that is all my own.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    It's just wow😲

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.