Poets logo

Your lost love

Insincerely

By Jacinta MudiePublished about a year ago 1 min read

Dear Elizabeth,

I love you.

I never told you that.

Not without an edge of sarcasm,

A bite of insincerity,

And a stab of guilt.

Because it was a love

That I didn't understand,

A love I didn't want.

When I think of you,

All I remember is regret.

I remember laughing

And thinking,

'why didn't I tell you?'

"I love you."

I remember talking

And thinking,

'Why didn't I say,'

"I love you?"

I remember sitting,

And thinking,

'Why couldn't I

Just love you?'

I wish I loved you

Enough to tell you.

But now I just have regret.

Because I couldn't say

"I love you."

I love you.

Why didn't you say

"I love you?"

Do you regret it too?

Sincerely, your lost love.

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JMWritten by Jacinta Mudie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.