Poets logo

Your Eyes Met Mine

A poem

By Willow Rakiah Creager Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Your Eyes Met Mine
Photo by Milan Popovic on Unsplash

When your eyes met mine

In just a photograph,

A warmth spread inside,

Filling the cracks and voids in me,

Beckoning my heart to beat.

In that moment,

I knew I had to know you.

To be in your presence,

Oh, I was unworthy.

But to be considered and loved,

This wholly and strongly...

Too good to be true.

I told you I love you

And you shone your light

Through dense ocean fog

Guided my ship

Past rocky shoes.

You curse my name,

Still I love as sweetly

As the day your eyes met mine

For the very first time.

Just a photograph,

And yet, so much more.

The birth of a love that will never die.

Though I'm forever without you,

I thank you, my love.

I could not have weathered the storm.

Had your eyes not met mine.

I hadn't the strength

I'd given up on love.

And I'd do it all again

Just to see you shine,

The way your smile illuminates black eyes.

If only you'd loved as wholly, as strongly,

Maybe you'd have waited out the storm.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Willow Rakiah Creager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.