Poets logo

Like Me (Blessed to See)

A poem

By Willow Rakiah Creager Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Like Me (Blessed to See)
Photo by Zoe Holling on Unsplash

The blessing to see can sometimes be

A cursed state of duality.

I would've kept giving, had you asked.

Had the whispers not carved these holes in my heart.

Had my house been a home, disconnected from collective...

And if I could change you to be like me

Satisfied and sanguinely living,

Would the truth be controversial?

Would my mind be this commercial?

I paint my light in delicate strands

Invisible eyes can see,

Dauntless to pursue the truth

In spite of traveled ways.

If only it was not just me,

This blessing, in truth,

That's cursed in life.

How easy it'd be to give it all

To bring the light I need.

But I won't change my way.

Day by day, I think of how

Your heart detested good

Sucked me like an endless leech

To leave me empty again.

To think you had the podium

And endless raging support.

I'm cursed to be so blessed to see

When everyone else is blind.

Now I won't ever be home.

I won't ever be home again.

My biggest sins are morals

Labeled faults for the flaws of another,

Namely you, that I wish to change.

Now I suffer, as if I'm wrong,

As if I was the one who had whispered and carved

These wretched, aching holes in your heart.

If only you could be like me,

One would still be company.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Willow Rakiah Creager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.