Poets logo

The Winsome Cup Bearer

A Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
9
An AI Generated Image

I am grateful for what you have taught me

This bitter lesson in sublimation

Sweetens when the beautiful breve I see:

Your smile, which could conquer a whole nation

My erstwhile selves would clumsily have tried

To rescue you from mundane tedium

With a cryptic joke or sad attempt to hide

Desire’s surge; a contrast medium

Opaque to the x-rays of your bright gaze

But I am antique and weak enough now

To be immune to the hormonal craze

And acknowledge your beauty with a bow

Gratefully, I accept my beverage

As a reminder now to act my age

Sonnet
9

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kodah22 days ago

    Those last 2 lines make me realise I should act like a kid when I order a hot chocolate. Love your sonnet! 💌

  • Holden Atencio22 days ago

    $4.35 got all that? That's one romantic cup of coffee (I wish she could know this!) And much respect on the introspectiveness. I like this one a lot because the moment was so simple.

  • There is so much to think!

  • But it's so sad if we gotta act out age, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Shirley Belk23 days ago

    You can dream, though...right?

  • Andrea Corwin 23 days ago

    Drink it down and try another. Tip well while you sip and watch. 😁

  • Rachel Deeming23 days ago

    I seem to remember another poem about a server...same muse?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.