Poets logo

Your Eyes Are The Windows To My Soul

A poem about an instant connection that lasted a lifetime

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Your Eyes Are The Windows To My Soul
Photo by joe acton on Unsplash

I was seated at the restaurant table

And just as I turned around

Your eyes locked with mine

And true love I knew I had found

I felt myself melting

Turning to liquid like heated butter

My head began to pound and

My heart began to flutter

You returned my glance as

Your lips curled into a smile

I knew then that for you

I would go the extra mile

It lasted but a brief moment

Yet felt as though it were an eternity

I gave myself to you and in turn

You now belonged to me

I smiled back and then the spell was broken

Someone tapped your arm

And one of my friends had spoken

We went back to our respective companions

But moments later I turned around

You were standing behind me

Without making one sound

Everything became foggy

As if I were in a haze

You touched my arm and

Again we were locked in a gaze

Sixty years later I'm still hypnotized

By the love I see in your bedroom eyes

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.