Poets logo

Your Arms

My Shelter in Darkness

By Summers RosePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Your Arms
Photo by Marco Bianchetti on Unsplash

When my mind has strayed too far...again.

My fears are drowning me...again.

A familiar feeling of fright and fear,

Yet so familiar, how can I let it go?

If I were to surrender,

To leap off the edge into freedom,

If I told my mind, "You listen to me, now."

What on earth would I do with myself?

The anxiety is habit-forming.

A nightmare that ebs and flows.

It pulls me into a hug that cuts and bleeds.

I'm raw and shredded at the edges.

I'm afraid what you will think of me.

Will you confirm my fear, or dispell it?

I let words out of my heart like a rusty fountain pump.

They stumble and trip through the air, dancing around my worry.

I wait.

What will you say?

Then you open your arms.

Both of them, wide.

Meant for me alone.

A circle of love and protection only the two of us will share.

You love me no less.

Your heart is no less mine.

My mind has been attacked by crippling fear,

But you want to know about it anyway.

You will never leave me.

When I need comfort, a place to hide...

Your arms are ready for me.

Waiting to embrace me,

Willing to hold me close.

The fear doesn't seem so strong now.

The dark thoughts, so bleak and terrifying,

They have less power now.

Maybe the anxiety doesn't vanish completely.

Maybe the darkness is still black and deep,

But you are there now, sharing in my fear.

I am not alone, a prisoner of my own mind that nobody else sees.

You are holding me, and you love me.

All of me.

You don't want to run away.

You want to keep me close forever.

Your arms are for me.

Like mine are for you.

And when you open your arms to me,

All will be well.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Summers Rose

Hi there! Books and stories play an important part in our lives, and I want to inspire people, make them happy, and cause them to think with the stories I create. Maybe teach a little history, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.