Poets logo

You Were Like The Wind

The first time I saw you. A fictional poem.

By Leah Lawrence Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
You Were Like The Wind
Photo by Alejandra Quiroz on Unsplash

The first time I saw you felt like being caught in the wind.

A gentle breeze at first.

It playfully pulled my eyes across the crowded room until my eyes met their unknown target.

You.

I'm not sure if hours or seconds passed while we held each other's gaze.

Time didn't stop but somehow changed.

The breeze caressed my cheek, ran its hand through my hair, and created an awakening inside me.

Without warning, the breeze transitioned into a gust.

Barely aware of my own movement I took a step towards you.

You did the same. The wind was pulling you too.

Slowly.

Intentionally.

Ignoring the crowd.

Tuning out the noise.

We made our way towards each other.

With every step, the wind grew stronger.

Swirling around.

The wind became a storm.

I took my breath.

I didn't need it.

The wind was breathing for me.

I took my control.

I didn't want it.

My will matched the will of the storm.

To move forward.

Towards you.

By Everton Vila on Unsplash

One final gust.

There you were.

Standing in front of me.

Your eyes sparkled with intention.

The corners of your mouth twitched upward.

Everything and everyone disappeared.

All I could see was you.

You and me.

The playful breeze returned.

You held out your hand.

Your eyes never left mine.

I placed my hand in yours and said "hello."

love poems
1

About the Creator

Leah Lawrence

An avid reader, book reviewer, and storyteller. Sharing my stories, experiences, and book reviews.

Follow me on IG: @leah.m.lawrence

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.