Poets logo

You Terrify Me

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
22
You Terrify Me
Photo by Katrin Hauf on Unsplash

You terrify me

Because from the moment we met

I knew

We had met before

In a waking dream

A dream I sought to ignore

Something long ago

I decided was imagined

Because it didn’t happen that way

But then the day came

And she said something would be new

And I didn’t want it to be true

I laughed it off

Ignored it

And then it all came

Crashing down

Locked in the storm with you

I had

Still have no idea

What to do

When I’m near you

Was it prophecy

Wishful thinking

Just an inkling

A sinking feeling

It was coming

Like the hum of distant drumming

A freight train of predestination

Or an invocation of my will?

Who knows

Be careful what you ask the universe for

You may just get it

And regret it

Feelings of selfishness

Muddied visions

Of futures past

Will this last?

Am I baiting chaos?

Or just fading into the fated twilight

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
22

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    You always manage to write stunning love poems that never seem cheesy, but are still deep, meaningful and impactful. Congrats on this getting Top Story! Trying to play catch up a little here and there! :)

  • "Just an inkling, A sinking feeling" There is so much melody in your poetry. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Joseph N.8 months ago

    Well done

  • Missclicked8 months ago

    these lines: ''Like the hum of distant drumming A freight train of predestination Or an invocation of my will?'' poetry at its FINEST! congratulations on top story!

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    So very powerful! Your words flow like magic. Very well done. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was adorable and I want my husband to say this to me Great top story! 🥹

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    Absolutely stunning work 🥰🥰 your top story is very deserved

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Very gorgeous poem. 'Was it prophecy Wishful thinking Just an inkling A sinking feeling' were some extra beautiful lines

  • Be careful what you ask/wish/pray for. And remember, whether it's God or simply the Universe, they have a sense of humor. While I was serving two churches in South Dakota, I became extremely stressed out. I remember looking up into the sky & crying out, "Dear God, I need a break!" Two weeks later I crushed my tibial plateau on my left leg, hyperextended the knee just by stepping on second base getting ready to trot off the field (out by a mile). All I could say was, "You know that's not what I meant!" That having been said, I did have to take it easy for 6-8 weeks.

  • Test8 months ago

    Fabtastic work-I wish there was a 'sticky note function-so many great lines, and so powerful. I loved this, 'A freight train of predestination' so damn much! 🤍🤍

  • Trista Harrison8 months ago

    Great work! Destiny is a strange thing when we meet someone we've met before, someone we've always known yet just a passing stranger. Should we embrace this chaotic delight of life or let it fade into twilight?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.