Poets logo

You and I

A Poem

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
You and I
Photo by Johannes Giez on Unsplash

As dawn breaks in hues of burnt orange and blue

And the breath of life reinvigorates you and I

The cage holding our soul’s hostage all these years

Finally clicks open to set us free

***

With chests expanded, full of freedom air

And eyes alight with daydream’s glow

We stand side by side as we look at the morning sky

Then walk into summer, you and I

***

For so many years we were kept apart

By our fear of the unknown, more than an actual plot

But now standing tall we leave our gilded cage

To escape that which a lifetime of fear has wrought

***

To live a life of one’s own creation

Not that which follows other’s norms

Frowned upon, looked down upon because our neighbours don’t agree

Let them live their life, ours is for you and me

***

So as day breaks on our new life, we step forth hand in hand

The sun shines bright on our time, no fear that others may decry

Our love, our life, finally our dreams come true

It’s our time to live our own life in love

You and I

love poems
9

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole20 days ago

    💜💜💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.