Poets logo

You.

You're just how I remember, and it's about time.

By BlairPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
You.
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Purpose you should seek

And let love be meek

Do what makes you happy

And put in your hourly deed

Find solace the less you think

And don't save room for the life you seek

This is all people think

And it doesn't get them far

Because what I search for

Is like reaching for a star 

Not surrounding your planets

Like Jupiter and Mars

Rather something of my own

Where mind and matter are the stars

Circumnavigating around a planet that's just ours

Condolence on our planet we’ve separated from the rest

Us souls that stick together forever and demand no less

When I find all of you

Is when the warm smell of campfire coffee will roast me to rest

My favorite sweatshirt will always wear warm

And the smell of patchouli will always center me in the eye of the storm

We’ll make sense of my pondering

That occurs through fright

And through cold early mornings

A warm breeze will always be in sight

Cause whenever I see you

You’ll blow my mind into flight

We’ll take off into what we know is right

Appearing as an abyss

But through the cruel world we’ll fight

Because through darkness you will be my light

And the life we bring will shine just as bright

And through lifetimes of sight we’ll foresee into spite

They’ll be no more mistakes left in this world we can’t fight

And on our return to the world

Through Jupiter and Mars

We’ll admire the change we’ve instilled in the stars

And in our next life we will meet again 

And I’ll start my search for you

Through the tip of a pen

I’ll repeat the process If I must

Again and again

And no matter what

Our connection will never condemn

So then

Be patient

And let my word manifest

Be who you love

In this mess of a test

Don’t rest from yourself

When your edges seem rough

Cause without you

The burn of patchouli will never be enough

The eye of the storm will continue to strand me

Unable to travel

To a distant family

And if I do venture far

A fire will not burn

My coffee will char

And my thoughts will turn into concern

And when the fire is out

And I’m stuck in the rain

My sweater will not wear warm

Because you won't be the same

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Blair

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.