Poets logo

Yearning For Serenity

A Glimpse of Skid Row

By Tony BacaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4

The sunset fades and doom descends

Upon these concrete pillars bend

The light of which the night transcends

The thoughts of which my mind suspends

*

The souls of which these streets have claimed

The blood and tears the sewers drained

The virgin flesh abused and maimed

The sanity I can't maintain

*

Amongst the filth and urine stench

My bloodshot eyes and fist both clenched

Tattered clothes and shoeless feet

A toothless grin for me to greet

*

Zombies roam throughout these streets

My concrete bed and cardboard sheets

The sadness which my heart defeats

As tourist gawk from high-rise seats

*

No one really knows my pain

The suffering perhaps in vain

Surrounded by all this guilt and shame

And yet, they all feel I’m to blame

*

Lost amongst these desperate hoarders

Trapped within these social borders

In search of one amenity

And yearning for serenity

*

Lord allow me one more day

Despite submersed in this decay

I trust that you will lead the way

My heart is yours and will not sway

*

For someday I may rise above

Perhaps compassion, or maybe love

A new sunrise provides some hope

And sheds some light and means to cope

*

Exposed now to this horror show

And all the pains of which I tow

Just sit back and watch the show

And welcome to my home, Skid Row

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Tony Baca

Just gathering inspiration along the way in this thing we call "Life." I prefer to write about the trials and tribulations of societal issues, but will immerse myself in a few other genres as well. Please drop by and say Hello! Cheers..

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming19 days ago

    Sad commentary, Tony. This must be something very difficult to bear witness to every day and not be able to change.

  • Tony Baca (Author)about a year ago

    After being exposed to this area in the mid 70's, and having a few family members sadly endure these poverty stricken and addiction ridden streets, it was an area that I simply couldn't ignore as I now work in the Downtown LA area and witness this sad section of society on a daily basis. My hopes in writing this poem is that maybe it will bring some additional attention to the area and perhaps incite some ideas that may someday assist in eradicating this hopeless condition that infiltrates so many urban areas in this country.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.