Poets logo

Yeah

That Was Something

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
8
Yeah
Photo by Anna Kolosyuk on Unsplash

Neon lights and velvet dresses

Wishing on stars and first loves kisses

Romantic moonlit sidewalk strolling

Flickering porch lights time to be going

Another time a world away

Delving into those yesterdays

Memory lane and tales of love

Promises made to god above

A vow full of joy and happiness

64 years of togetherness

Lifetime adventures and a future with kids

Doing it better than their folks ever did

Proud of their lives and the simplicity of family

Pulling it off in spite of occasional calamity

My folks did it right, though I know it was tough

They clung to each other in the easy and rough

I don’t know if I will ever understand love

But man, it’s sure something to dream of

love poems
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    So beautifully heart-warming. You've told us of your father, but I don't recall what you've said of your mother. I take it she was full of love, too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.