Poets logo

Wishes

And A Stone

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
7
Wishes
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

Somewhere in the depths of a fast running stream

Lie the stones holding all of my wishes

Tied with my innocent invisible string

Drifting away with the colorful fishes

I wonder if they read of my deepest desires

The hopes of a child’s make believe

The ones stirring a life changing fire

The Ones yet to be fully conceived

Did the bubbles rise up as they giggled

At the plans I sent skipping the waves

Will it count if I tossed in a nickel

Or if I promise to always be brave

Maybe one day I’ll go and take them all back

Walk the shores and collect all the stones

Or maybe I’ll sit neath a tree with a snack

Keep on wishing and just leave them alone

surreal poetry
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    BTW, this was filled with both innocence & beauty. I loved every bit of it.

  • I think I'll just leave them alone. If I went back to collect them & take them all back, I'd probably forget which ones were mine & collect the wrong ones. Then where would be?

  • C. Rommial Butler11 months ago

    Do we find joy in the seeking or seek joy in the finding? Lovely poem!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    This is so clever. You described what it’s like to wish upon a rock and release it into the ocean hoping it comes true! Excellent! Also, the rhyme scheme was so well done. 💛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.