Poets logo

Writing Is

A poem of procrastination

By Judey Kalchik Published 2 months ago 1 min read
19
Writing Is
Photo by Christina Langford-Miller on Unsplash

Writing is more than fun

More than hard

More than yielding.

More than essential.

~

Writing is breath

and muttered oaths

seasoned with tears.

It's sleepless nights

screaming into the world in a mighty whisper.

~

It's procrastination

and plan-changes

to capture the elusive threads

then aching for any response.

~

Joy. Pain. Effort.

Immortality

~

Written whilst I was writing something else. As one does.

Comments welcome: what does writing mean to you?

Stream of Consciousness
19

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a month ago

    This is so accurate. "Writing is breath" especially with poetry. Beautiful work Judey.

  • Chloe Gilholy2 months ago

    This poem captured what writing is to me. And I love the song Immortality.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Beautifully said. To me, writing is a vital form of expression. It's a way to think deeply, learn, process the world around me, and attempt to connect with other humans over the human experience. Reading and writing go hand in hand for me - I can't imagine writing without reading. To me, it's all about connecting with each other and with life. Thank you for sharing this, Judey.

  • To me, writing is a way to express my emotions, especially the ones that have been pent up. It also let's me live vicariously through my stories. In other words, writing is very therapeutic!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh2 months ago

    "Writing is more than essential." That captured it for me. Whispering back my appreciation for your writing!

  • Everything from agony to ecstasy, utter frustration to the sublime.

  • Atomic Historian2 months ago

    Beautiful Judey

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Writing helps me to make sense of myself and all the coiled- up emotions that I need to unkink.

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Hi Step-Sis - I was always the weird kid that actually liked to write essays in school - No Crib~Notes for me. 'j'

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.