Poets logo

Peace and Quiet

A Rick Henry Christopher Peace on Earth Challenge

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 months ago 1 min read
10
https://pixabay.com/users/congerdesign-509903/

My thoughts roil-

Tumbling loudly-

Clanging clamor.

Unease taunts me

So much input:

Endless yammer.

All the things I wished I'd said

Flash and sparkle in my head.

~

The views and scenes and 'shoulds-have-done'

Refuse to settle when the Sun

At last closes its gaze and sinks to sleep

But I'm still rollin' in the deep-

Regrets and protests, (SO MUCH FEELING!)

Adrenaline, cortisol; they leave me REELING!

I find I cannot quit the day-

My thought demand another say-

surfacing over and over and over again

give me no rest, just longing for when

exhausted from hearing inaudible bleats

reproaches, requests, and rage-filled Tweets-

my spirit tears down the inner alleys and streets

seeking the shelter where silence defeats

and that monotonous assault on the ME no longer repeats

when the fear and the anger recedes, my pulse slows down its beats

I crawl in the sanctuary of my flannel sheets.

~

~

Eyes closed

I pray-

and offer my heart.

Make me a channel

of blessing and strength

to do my part.

Not dwell on 'Other'

not rage or join

the riot.

My spirit calm

filled with peace

and quiet.

Stop pushing and pulling

refusing to see;

that if there's to be

peace on Earth

it must begin with me.

~~~~

This poem was written for Rick Henry Christopher's Peace on Earth Challenge. You can read about the Challenge, Rick's poem, and the other entries by clicking on the link below.

You can read about the origin of the song that inspired this poem here:

Here's one of my favorite renditions, sweet voices singing and Carlos Santana on the guitar.

Comments absolutely happily received.

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Beautiful work, Judey! Love your prayer :)

  • Just suffered an embarrassing/humiliating moment this afternoon which will undoubtedly rob me of my peace for some time now. Probably keep me awake tonight & give me ulcers, no matter how tired I currently am.

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Great poem! Thank you for sharing Judey!😊💕💖

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautifully said. Sometimes there is just so much noise. Climb into those flannels and breathe.

  • Your poem reminded me of the saying, "Be the change you want to see in this world". Well done!

  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    ‘j’ — Love ❤️ those Flannel Pajamies — ‘j’

  • Heather Zieffle 3 months ago

    This is a wonderful poem Judey! Nicely done.

  • Excellent poem… from chaos to internal peace. “ I pray- and offer my heart. Make me a channel of blessing and strength to do my part.” Our greatest hope of peace… each of us seeking it.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I really like how you mentoned that you are focusing on your own heart and not following others ( jumping on bandwagons filled with negativitey) . This is is a banner with which we should all try to hold high. Beautifully said Judey.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.