Poets logo

A Whimper of Pain

A cry of loss

By Judey Kalchik Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read

Will you think me weak if I ask for help?

I am not sleeping.

I cry at traffic lights,

my hands firmly gripping the wheel

at 10 and 2.

But that's all

that I can grip.

Everything else is

swept away in the fog

and creeping numb that sweeps through me.

Am I losing my grip on life?

Is this... that?

~

I... don't... think... so.

I can still feel,

so that must be life.

Still.

~

The help I would give others

remains wrapped in thick sandpaper for me.

My fingers ache from the effort of unwrapping it.

Scraped and raw- I am exhausted.

My head.

My eyes.

My breathing seems like such a huge effort for

such poor reasons.

Is it worth it?

Am I worth it?

~

Will you think me weak if i ask for help?

~

Do you

think of me

at all?

~

Stream of ConsciousnessProseMental Healthheartbreak

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was soooo heartbreaking. I wish more people knew that asking for help is the strongest thing that they can do.

  • No to the first. Yes to the last. This makes me think of the story of the father watching his young child struggling to move a large boulder with no success. After the child gives up complaining, "I can't move it," the father asks, "Have you tried using all your strength?" The child responds, "Yes, you know I did." The father replies, "No you haven't, for you haven't asked me to help yet." Part of the American myth: we're supposed to be able to do it all & handle it all on our own. It never was true. It's still not true today.

  • Karen Cave5 months ago

    Beautiful.

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    I think asking for help is one of the hardest things to do, so no, it doesn’t make a person weak. Great writing as always, Judey

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    No, I see no weakness. Asking 4 help is a superpower that we humans don't utilize enough! Awesome writing btw Judey!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💙 I consider you strong.

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Judey, we all feel this way now and again...you nailed it!

  • Jazzy 5 months ago

    Oh I loved this, gave me journal vibes and self-conscious vibes all in one

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Nope you are not at all weak.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    I wouldn't think you were weak. That ending stands out, also the image of hands on the wheel being the only things you get a grip on. This is fabulous. Well done.

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Wow, this is super, Judy, so well put in a poem, all the worries that we all feel. 👏👏

  • JBaz5 months ago

    ‘Will you think me weak, if I ask for help?’ What a strong line, this sums up the entire poem. It gave me pause yo reflect.

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    'j' ~ Whew, Did I Write This ~ 'j'

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Poignantly beautiful writing, Judey!

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.