Poets logo

Worst Enemy

I Am

By Ria Published 2 years ago 1 min read

I am in fact

My own worst enemy.

Twisting my Insecurities

Like a knife in my heart,

The heaviness I feel won't ever subside

A constant weight to carry

Like the death of a pet.

So helpless to quiet the inner monologue

A silky sweet smoke-ridden voice

Thick with syrup, but nails on the chalkboard

It twists the truth to entertain its dark tales.

I am in fact my own worst enemy

Stuck in the dark reaches

A pit of despair

5 years taken off each time it opens its mouth

Each time I wish the stinging would vanish.

The wrenching of my heart

the heaviness of my stomach,

The stinging in my eyes,

I wish it would all just disappear

But the voice tells me

It tells me I am better off gone

Reiterating the echoes of the past-

Telling me I am not enough

The wrenching in my chest, twisting my heart

the stinging in my eyes and the heaviness in my stomach

It all builds

The voice inside me reminding me

I am my own worst enemy

I know this though,

never have time to forget.

And I still wish I would disappear.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Ria

An aspiring writer- My first time being a open book.

My poetry is emotionally driven and my short stories are widely inspired. I hope you find something in my collection that tickles your fancy. Thank you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ria Written by Ria

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.