Poets logo

Worse Than Death

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I know I’ve been gone for some time, and I hope that you’ll forgive me.

You don’t have to say a word, just listen to me.

I didn’t tell you how I felt but I knew for a while.

I never told you how I fell in love with your smile.

Being apart is worse than death, worse than death himself.

Imprisoned by your own heart, that’s worse than death, worse than death itself.

I was afraid of the passion, but why do I feel this way?

I didn’t know how to cope, so I just went astray.

I know it was unfair to grant you no say.

But I’ve been thinking, I’ve been thinking about you all day.

The pain of missing you is worse than death, pain worse than death himself.

And it only gets harder and worse than death, a fate worse than death itself.

I walked away but I never even left you.

I said goodbye, alas I never even meant to.

This all began the day that I met you, ‘twas a long time ago.

It took me time to find what I wanted.

The blood on my floor took years to mop it.

Once the grieving started, I couldn’t stop it.

Come true colors their time to show.

A life without you is worse than death. It’s worse than death, I know.

Some things in life are worse than death, they’re worse than death and slow.

And when I die, it’s off to hell I go.

All these brick walls are built to huff and puff, then blow.

I bite my tongue until it bleeds to restrain my words back.

The marijuana numbs me, so I smoke until I see black.

Now I don’t know what’s wrong with me, I lick my wounds like the dog in me.

I dust off my heart then try again like research.

Been there, done that, I even got the t-shirt.

Love is worse than death, worse than death it may be.

The silence is much worse than death, worse than death, baby.

love poems

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Desmond RazzanoWritten by Desmond Razzano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.