Fiction logo

Beware of Foxes

A full moon, a strange dream: deceit and corruption

By PK Colleran Published 8 days ago Updated 7 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Beware of Foxes
Photo by Lasse Nystedt on Unsplash

Night. Moonlight. The sound of padded paws on soft, pale grass.

A skulk of foxes, wagging their tails like friendly puppies, emerges from the brush. They come right up to me, as if we've met before.

Could they be tame?

A voice echoes in my dream as it has for the last three nights:

They are not smiling

They are merely

Showing their teeth.

There is a certain look in their eyes. A gleam reminding me of someone, somewhere.

I feel a shudder, not knowing if to hide or to run.

They are not neighborhood dogs, I tell myself. They are definitely not domesticated.

Yet one stands on his hind legs, puts his paws on my shoulders, and licks my face.

The shock awakens me, and a voice in my head continues:

They are not smiling

They are merely

Showing their teeth.

Breakfast time is quiet as I sit with my aging father.

I tell him about the recurring dream.

What could it mean? Foxes, wild animals? Do they symbolize something?

He replies in a manner so simple it stuns.

They represent people.

People! How could it be that I hadn't seen it before?

It started in the office.

I noticed things that made me uncomfortable. Computers shutting quickly when I entered the room. Whispering. Papers missing.

I ignored my doubts, afraid of trouble.

I didn't want to make a fuss.

Days pass by, and I dream again.

This time, a new voice echoes when I awaken with a lick on my face:

Beware of foxes

And those who believe

They are tame.

My doubts and suspicions prove true.

Power, money, prestige: (Why is it always the same?)

They stop at nothing to get what they want.

It starts subtly and slowly: fake emails, forged signatures, altered accounts.

Then come the false rumors, putting blame on others.

The sly foxes of children's stories return to my mind.

Ancestral symbols come to us in the dark, in our dreams.

Are not dreams born in the same place as fairy tales?

Beware of foxes

And those who believe

They are tame.

Coworkers have suspicions and, like me, want to turn away.

I never planned to be a whistleblower.

The tarot cards drop in my lap.

Then I know what I have to do.

By Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

Whistle. Blow the whistle loud and long. It falls to me to tell all.

I report everything I had seen in brazen detail. I gather evidence—false records, fake signatures, a rigged election of board members—and I find witnesses.

I tell it over and over again until the authorities responded.

Investigations follow. Commissions are appointed. Testimonies were given, leading to forced resignations.

"How could this be?" mourn the young volunteers, dismayed and disheartened. "We are a nonprofit."

Disillusionment is a heavy burden to carry, no matter your age.

It takes months of recovery, restless nights, and new dreams.

Keep your distance

And forge new paths.

Knights ride on white horses now in my dreams, carrying shields and shiny swords.

Archetypes take new forms on a chess board only I can play.

By Mehmet Uzut on Unsplash

Keep your distance

And forge new paths.

A king. A queen. Noble white horses. Defenders of justice.

They ride now and forevermore into the dark night, protecting those who journey, singing softly in the shadows:

Beware of foxes

And those who believe

They are tame.

****

Based on true events, real dreams, and a non-profit.

PsychologicalMysterysocial commentary

About the Creator

PK Colleran

I love the music of words and the stories they tell.

Editor of bilingual poetry collection Landscape of the Soul by Hipólito Sánchez

Translator of Living Consciously and Words Matter, by Jorge Waxemberg

You can read more of my work here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • ROCK a day ago

    Finding *Truth* is hard to accept; sounds like you outfoxed the skulk. I respect the experience and how you let it unfold in your story. Congratulations!

  • Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Fly Alone2 days ago

    This story masterfully blends dream imagery with real-life tension, revealing the protagonist's journey from suspicion to action. The foxes as symbols of deceit and the recurring warnings underscore a powerful message about vigilance and integrity.

  • Darkos6 days ago

    Fantastic, about the great awareness, dreams, and real-life experience with another Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Raihana H.6 days ago

    Interesting! Sometimes dreams are meaningless and sometimes not. It's brave of you to take action! Congrats on top story!

  • Alexavier6 days ago

    very good story

  • Andrea Corwin 6 days ago

    Oh, wow!! Whistle blow the hell out of the crooks!! 💕

  • Deasun T. Smyth6 days ago

    Nice! 😁

  • Oh, wow! Merely showing their teeth…what a fantastic visual. I was married to a smiler, almost raises goosebumps. Congratulations on a stunning story

  • shanmuga priya6 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉 on top story

  • Great!!!

  • Ameer Bibi7 days ago

    Really like the symbolism You are truly great to create such stories

  • Phuong Smile7 days ago

    Greaty!!!!

  • Caroline Jane7 days ago

    I too saw foxes when I went through similar. Love the refrain you use in this. Really well done.

  • Sarah Daniel7 days ago

    What a beautifully crafted and haunting story! The symbolism and vivid imagery are incredibly powerful. Thank you for sharing this poignant and thought-provoking piece.

  • Golam Kibria7 days ago

    Write more stories like this

  • Babs Iverson7 days ago

    Brilliant and relatable social commentary!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Joe Patterson7 days ago

    VERY VERY VERY WELL DONE. Definitely deserves to be top story.

  • very wonder and great story to read

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    "They are not smiling They are merely Showing their teeth" This is such a powerful statement. Smiles are powerful and though they are mainly used to do good, there is always someone who will use that power to manipulate. Well done!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Omg I can so relate to this poem right now within the workplace and I work for a non profit too. Well done!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done. Very good piece and a good lesson also.

PK Colleran Written by PK Colleran

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.