Poets logo

Wordsmithing

Unscrambled challenge

By D.K. ShepardPublished 14 days ago Updated 6 days ago 1 min read
19
Wordsmithing
Photo by Hannah Gibbs on Unsplash

Wordsmithing, writing's origin

Tongs hoisting rigid iron rods

Down into storming hot iris

Swing with strong might into midnights

Sigh on, not siring sword or rings

Showing wisdom hiding within

Writhing, ogrish sight in its worst

Grows to wits with wings, rising song

Tiring wrist drowns sown insight

In moist indigo, misting snort

Smog ghost grins, hints to things most dim

Now this word string is in right rows

Shorn its thorns its downright striding

To stir minds with moths sworn to winds

Wishing snow or towns worn to twigs

Wordsmith grinds whims writ into worth

Author’s Note: Very honored that this poem was selected as a 1st place winner in Heather Hubler’s challenge! Check out the other winners linked in the story below!

For Fun
19

About the Creator

D.K. Shepard

Character Crafter, Witty Banter Enthusiast, World Builder, Unpublished novelist...for now

Fantasy is where I thrive, but I like to experiment with genres for my short stories. Currently employed as a teacher in Louisville.

dkshepard.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 days ago

    Wow that's clever! Don't think I've seen one like that before!

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    Oh yes. I see the glint of gold here!

  • Gina C.5 days ago

    This is so beautifully done! Those words and phrases are so odd and perfect - I especially loved "Down into storming hot iris" 😍 Magnificient poem! Congratulations on the win!

  • Christy Munson6 days ago

    Congratulations!

  • Dana Crandell6 days ago

    A well-deserved win! I'm actually impressed with how many words aren't in bold, and the poem flows incredibly well. Defintely the right choice!

  • Paul Stewart7 days ago

    Well...I am sorry I missed this when you first posted it. I can see why this won. Heather chose well. This is just...I oddly don't have the words lol. The flow is bloody perfect...the fact that it is littered with unscrambled words...that it stays on theme and by using unscrambled words almost exclusively is by definition wordsmithing at its finest. DK, my hat off to you for this one. Bloody genius. And all those times I've said bloody. Please read as fucking. lol. I am impressed. Like a lot. I've always known from my dive into your work, that you were great...but...yeah...I'll shush now. Congrats!

  • Well deserved win in Heather’s challenge ✅

  • Cathy holmes7 days ago

    Wow. This is excellent. Wordsmithing indeed. Congrats.

  • Kendall Defoe 7 days ago

    Feels both classic and fresh... Excellent choice for a win!!!

  • Sandra Matos7 days ago

    Congratulations on winning Heather's challenge! It was a well-deserved win!

  • Heather Hubler9 days ago

    I'm so blown away by your entry!! You wordsmithed the hell out of this piece! And that last line was gold :) Thank you so much for participating. I loved your entry!!

  • Extremely impressive entry… an excellent reason why I don’t read any entries before I have an attempt, or I’d chicken out!😵‍💫🤣✅

  • TheSpinstress13 days ago

    Wow, almost the whole poem is bold! This is really creative. =D

  • John Cox13 days ago

    Simply amazing, DK, how fruitful your word choice was and how few words you needed beyond the plethora of words generated. Well done!

  • Lovely !

  • Whoaaaa, you used sooooo many words! This was freaking fantastic!

  • Rachel Deeming14 days ago

    Well, that's an exercise in how to do it! I have one started but think that may be where it stays!

  • This was a very fun read! I loved the word choice. A perfect snapshot of wordsmithing.

  • Penny Fuller14 days ago

    Wow! Almost every word! This perfectly captures the inner process. This was really lovely and incredibly well done.

  • Gabriel Huizenga14 days ago

    This is AWESOME- vivid, and effective word choices, and with such a good flow to it, I'd love to hear it spoken aloud! Magnificent wordsmithing :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.