Poets logo

Words To Get Lost By

And A Melody If You Need One

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
10
Words To Get Lost By
Photo by Etienne Pauthenet on Unsplash

*

head on a swivel

eyes rolling like dice

I try my best to be civil

But you challenge my nice

Here are some thoughts in case you had any doubt

If I was a riptide, I would not take you out

Some truth for your ears, some may come across rough

If I were a tornado, I would not pick you up

To remind you in case your memory is lagging

If you were my last shot, I’d stay on the wagon

I don’t want to sound like I am still miffed

If I was a blizzard well, I think you catch my drift

slam poetrylove poemshumorFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer4 months ago

    I am such a big fan of your poetry. This is just another example of why.

  • This is so remarkably clever, Kelli. I love every bit of it (& believe I still would, even if I happened to be the one toward whom it's directed, lol).

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Hi-Ki ~ 'Word' ~ Wasn't that a complimentary expression in 80ish Schtick...such as 'Rad'~Bitchin' or even Groovy? - Ur fun ~ I always seem to 'Catch your Drift' 'j'

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    I always admire your clever way with words, Kelli! Great stuff!

  • NICE

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I can't stop laughing...or thinking about my ex!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.