Poets logo

Without You

Inspired by the devoted husband of a woman that was cared for by my wife. He would come every day-rain, sun or snow, to be by his wife's side.

By Gerald HolmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
23
Photo from Canva free pic

Dear Emily,

I’m feeling truly lost

And don’t know what to do

Sitting here broken

My soul, aching just for you

*****

How can I let you go?

When you’re everything to me

How can I stop these tears?

And set your soul free

*****

I’m trying to find the words

Trying to be a sage

As the water from my eyes

Punctuates the page

*****

The days seem much longer now

My walks are farther away

From the place; we shared our love

The place our love will stay

*****

Home; it feels much darker now

Pain wants to steal the light

It’s so hard, to be here

Without you; in the night

*****

I walk alone now

Without you by my side

Missing your soft touch

My love, My life, My bride

*****

Without you, time moves slower now

With you; time moved too fast

They gave you, maybe, six months

Each day could be our last

*****

You're gone; three months now

Half of me left that day

You said the words “I love you”

The last words, you would say

*****

Light comes very early now

I walk in morning dew

With undying love in my heart

Trying to live

Without you.

*****

You will forever hold my heart

With all my love, Richard.

Photo from Canva free pic

heartbreak
23

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Gerald this is beautiful and heart breaking! I liked the rhyme scheme, it gave this overall poem more flow and gave it a sense of cohesiveness from stanza to stanza. Great work!

  • Heartbreakingly sad and beautiful

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh my, this is so emotional and really touched my heart. 🥺 You really did an excellent job with this! So poignant that we aspire to find a love like this, and if we do - like all things- it will end. 😔

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Beautiful and empathetic, with an honest, feelable flow. Well done.

  • So utterly poignant. A knew a couple once in their eighties. She fell down the basement stairs putting a box of Christmas ornaments away. By the time they got her to the hospital she was in critical condition. A concussion, brain bleed & swelling. Everyone thought that was it. But her husband came in every day, telling the doctors & nurses her stories, showing them pictures of her from all through her life. He told me he wanted everyone who took care of her to see & think of her as a person, full of vitality & life, & not just a duty to perform. Defying all odds, she not only recovered but was able to return home doing all the things she so enjoyed (except for carrying boxes of Christmas ornaments down the basement steps--that was strictly forbidden). It wasn't too many years later that I heard they had both passed. But that kind of love remains. It remains with every one of us who bore witness to what two loving hearts can be & become. And you are their witness. I trust you will bear it well.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was so heartfelt I could feel very emotion reading the lines well done beautiful work

  • This was very touching and emotional. I loved your line, As the water from my eyes Punctuates the page.

  • Beautiful words, sad but beautiful

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Heartfelt and emotional!!! Loving your lines, "As the water from my eyes Punctuates the page"

  • Testabout a year ago

    Heartbreaking, very touching. Beautiful writing - Anneliese❤️

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    It's amazing how one can easily get caught up in the words you crafted. "As the water from my eyes, punctuates the page." Tugs real hard. Thank you for sharing. Hearted and subscribed.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness. That was heartbreaking and incredibly well done.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    sobs....

  • Rachel M.Jabout a year ago

    Oh my, this line "As the water from my eyes punctuates the page." So lovely Gerald.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh goodness, I'm crying in my coffee. That was so touching and full of palpable heartbreak. Well penned, my friend :)

  • Stephanie Downardabout a year ago

    Oh, my heart! I could feel the emotion in this. ❤️Your words were beautiful. Excellent writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.