Poets logo

Wish Upon a Star

A sorta Sonnet

By KJ AartilaPublished about a month ago 1 min read
7
Wish Upon a Star
Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

Wish Upon a Star

Dangerously waking too close to the edge now -

glad I didn’t fall.

Hope my silence doesn’t wake you,

as I readjust my wall.

*

The dreams were all consuming,

but the nightmares left a mess.

If my sleep-talk doesn’t frighten you -

in the dark, I will confess.

*

Tonight, might be the death of me,

or maybe I can soar,

if you’ll catch me from my swan dive

like you did before.

*

Maybe tonight once more I’ll fly ,

through the beautiful light of a star-lit sky.

Thank you for reading! Make a wish …

surreal poetrySonnet
7

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Brilliant & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • This is a beauty

  • Ah, those dreams of wonder where & when anything becomes possible.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was absolutely beautiful! Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Those last line evoke a beautiful image. Really well done..

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Starry starry night ✨ Sweet poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.