Poets logo

Winter Rose

Against the Odds

By Cindy CalderPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read

I saw you in the snow from far away

Your glow was fair and keen

Your will to stay and play

Did defy the wind gust of the day.

Amid ice and gale,

You lay soft upon the vine

A rich, red rose in acid cold,

But still so very fine.

You were a view most fair in all,

An open bud so fair and tall,

A rose full of the dewy snow

Yet you gave joy and made me glow,

And with the red, pure bud I did see,

I felt a calm as if you had set me free.

My love for you did grow that day

Even tho’ the cold was want to stay.

You gave me so much, I made you mine

And grew a new love for all time.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • The Wanderer12 months ago

    Beautiful!

Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.