Poets logo

will the bee sting?

three days of a love like the movies.

By Dany ElizarrarasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

three days,

for him to pull me in,

into his current that held a mixture of wishes and rawness;

me in the center, him the tide.

three days,

of walking along shore with sand at our feet,

hands intertwined

while sand grains made their way to every inch of us;

his gaze had the same effect…of seeing every inch of me.

three days,

of a love like the movies;

but that’s why they call it love like the movies.

right?

the story started with a clear blue sky

the sun bright, making skins shine and bronze

making everything a bit prettier, dreamier…

bees flying by looking for their perfect flower,

kids playing near shore, while their parents sipped fruity cocktails.

shirts coming off, bodies getting wet and salty

the picture perfectly set.

the night was what made me notice his eyes,

his eyes that carried a twinkle when no light was around

which followed me better and closer than my own shadow could;

like a queen constantly being observed by her court.

one blameless look turned into a constant need

a bee in need of flowers, desperate for nectar

sucking it all out to turn into honey

and that’s what those looks were,

honey.

pure honey,

that I started getting used to,

that my body began to crave.

it was no longer a night fixation

but a sun and moon affair.

three days of his eyes drinking me in and almost taking me prisoner.

three days of countless promises and declarations that I absorbed effortlessly;

the way a bee takes pollen from flowers…not thinking twice.

three days of illusions that were soon pierced like a bee stinger bursting through my skin.

three days of a love like the movies left at the beach,

the tide quickly erasing every trace of it,

making it seem like it was never there,

but it was.

right?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Dany Elizarraras

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.