Poets logo

Wild Dream

A Poem By Birithivy Yogaratnam

By Birithivy YogaratnamPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read

It all started with a dream.

Like a burst of kettle steam.

I was transported to a reunion.

Which felt more like a communion.

I saw faces, familiar, but older.

I accidentally bumped into someone's shoulder.

I turned to say sorry, but stopped before speaking.

All of a sudden, the festive vibe was fleeting.

It felt like that scene in Kill Bill.

You know, the one with the big fight, the big thrill?

Where there was a hundred fighters, fighting against one.

All I could think was, "oh, I'm done."

Punches were thrown, left and right.

I had to run, out of sight.

It was a frenzy, indeed.

I couldn't believe it wasn't a stampede.

I ran towards the stairwell, hoping for the best.

But all I knew is that I needed to escape from the rest.

As I opened the door, I peered down the stairs.

Fully knowing that I needed to escape the glares.

Because that frenzied crowd was ready to fight.

And I just wanted to get away, run off into the night.

I don't know why, but I jumped in the middle.

Plummeting down, knowing my legs were going to become brittle.

I careened down to the bottom, running on adrenaline.

I landed on my feet, surprised they weren't gelatin.

Looking up, I saw the crowd.

They looked down, not looking proud.

I burst through the doors, and into the nearby field.

I then stopped in my tracks, as I squealed.

Right on that field, was this huge inflatable balloon of a dummy.

I was starting to think: "this dream is real crummy!"

I was terrified of dummies at the time.

It made me creeped out, how they mime.

This dummy just stared, silent and scary.

With a name tag that showed his name was Jerry.

All the colour in the dream had drained away.

All I now saw was white and grey.

I ran as far away as possible.

Approaching any road that seemed crossable.

I bumped into another person, in the midst of running, full force.

Because why not else in this wacky scenario, of course.

This person happened to be a vampire, staring straight through my soul.

Again, it was just fear and terror, that ran through me as a whole.

The vampire lunged and attacked.

I awoke from this ridiculous dream, all intact.

I thought about how weird the dream I just dreamt.

I got out of bed to grab water, feeling all but spent.

Energy was needed, so I headed to the kitchen.

I needed to get back to a better condition.

As I got to the kitchen, I saw it with my eyes.

Right outside my balcony, in the largest of size.

Was that same balloon dummy, staring into our place.

With no emotions in its face.

Black, grey, and white, were the colours around.

Again, I couldn't muster a sound.

And then a huge flash of lightning blinded me.

I awoke from this dream, now that I can guarantee.

I thought to myself: "instead of pop before bed, maybe drink some tea."

From then on, I never drank pop before sleep.

Because I really didn't want to dream of any craziness this deep.

Its a crazy dream, that still confuses me.

And none of my dreams have ever been crazier, to any other degree.

surreal poetryfact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Birithivy YogaratnamWritten by Birithivy Yogaratnam

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.