Poets logo

Wicks for WAX

Four Poem Series

By Kale RossPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Wicks for WAX
Photo by Alex Motoc on Unsplash

By Fabio Issao on Unsplash

WICKS FOR WAX

Cultures are social gaps.

Engineered to collapse.

Not enough food to last.

Tongue tied to the past.

Too tired to react.

Too blind to adapt.

Truths fall through the cracks.

Too few wicks for wax.

Cultures are soical traps.

By Alex Motoc on Unsplash

TRUST

The man with the banjo

told me to trust the song.

The man with the rifle

told me to trust my resolve.

The man with the book

told me to trust the words.

The man without eyes

told me to trust the art.

Now I must convince the

man in the mirror to trust

his heart.

By Martina Vitáková on Unsplash

CITY HARES

Making awkward eye contact

with two furry rabbits,

I instantly felt guilty

swallowing my last

bite of roasted

carrots.

By Jorge Alcala on Unsplash

DUCK ON LUNCH

Stale bread tickled the empty stomachs

of the lonely duckling while she

carefully probed the riverbed

for discarded cornbread stuffing,

regardless of how disgusting.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.