Poets logo

Hero of Color

Poem

By Kale RossPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Hero of Color
Photo by Esteban Lopez on Unsplash

My olive skin provides me with ample

opportunities to exploit my white privilege.

Depending on the hue of the situation, I can

portray any socially accepted image.

As a kid, I would summon somber rain clouds

in ignorant attempts to wash away

my pigmentation. My uniqueness was

being falsely labeled as a natural violation.

As an adolescent, society introduced me to

pleasant antidepressants.

Teaching me lessons on how to suppress

my intuitive questions.

As an adult, I have accepted the opal dimensions

of my multi-colored reflection.

I am a proud person of color

and I refuse to be lessened.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman3 months ago

    Liked this very well. Powerful writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.