Poets logo

Why I Don’t Stay

By Tornvec

By Tørnvec™Published 5 days ago 1 min read

Asking me why I don’t stay.

Honey I’m afraid.

If I give my heart away it might break again.

And I’m already on the mend.

Can’t play pretend, I know how this’ll end.

I don’t wanna hurt you.

But hurt people, hurt people and I know that’s true.

Weaponized all the pain someone else put me through.

Firing every shot meant for them at you.

Old scars opening new wounds.

Leaving us both confused, wondering “what did I do?”

Locking eyes, traumatized, questioning “who are you?”

It isn’t right that you pay the price for someone else’s mistakes.

They aren’t even here and I’m still their slave.

Psychological warfare and gladiatorial games.

Well aware there’s nothing to gain from misguided rage.

So I put my love on a curfew.

To ensure I would never hurt you.

It was the only way to make you bulletproof.

So if I shoot and it ricochets, I’ll feel the pain too.

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Tørnvec™

With every word written, I breathe easier.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Rachel Deeming5 days ago

    "So if I shoot and it ricochets, I’ll feel the pain too." I have mixed feelings about your poem because it's filled with love but also torture. I like trying to make my way through the conflict though.

Tørnvec™Written by Tørnvec™

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.