Poets logo

Why does it hurt?

Just a poem for her...

By Jacob SánchezPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Why does it hurt?
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

To tell the truth, I still don't know why it hurts,

I still don't understand why your image haunts every sleepless night.

I don't comprehend why each tear carries your name and every sigh your memory.

If we ended up so badly, why do you reappear?

It's supposed to not hurt if you hurt me,

But here you are, once again in my mind,

Making me overthink like that inopportune night of the full moon.

Your presence is like a persistent shadow,

Slipping into the darkest folds of my thoughts.

Why do you insist on reminding me of what once was,

Unearthing moments buried under earth and tears?

The nights bear witness to my internal struggle,

While your image dances in the twilight of my dreams.

Every time I think of you, nostalgia engulfs me,

The heart trembles, memories surface, and vulnerability unravels.

It seems time hasn't erased your traces,

Nor diminished the echo of your words.

Why do you return to my life uninvited and unannounced,

Leaving behind a trail of doubts and sorrow in my soul?

Your footsteps faded into the horizon of goodbye,

But now, you reappear brazenly and without reason.

I don't understand why you insist on tormenting my mind,

With the ghosts of a love that once was,

Entangling my sanity and clinging to my thoughts.

Perhaps someday I'll discover the answer,

To this enigma that pulls me towards your memory.

Meanwhile, I fight against the shadows of your figure,

Trying to find the peace I deserve.

Yet, there you remain, present and unsettling,

Like a melody that repeats ceaselessly.

I don't know why it hurts or why you return,

All I know is that this poem is nothing but a plea,

For the wind to carry away your memories and heal my heart,

To find freedom and cease living in this constant pain.

JS

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JSWritten by Jacob Sánchez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.