Poets logo

Illegal Immigration

Seeking Hope Across Borders

By Stephane Kouame (Sirkwame)Published 8 days ago 1 min read
Seeking hope across borders

I walk these roads, with dreams in my eyes,

Dreams are heavy, laden with silent cries.

Why cross the border, leaving all you’ve known?

Hope drives my steps, though the path is unknown.

But the laws are clear, the risks are great,

For a better life, I'll challenge fate.

What about safety, the fear of the chase?

Safety is a luxury, not granted to my place.

You seek a future, but at what cost?

A life without freedom, is a life that's lost.

Is there no other way to achieve your dream?

In my homeland, hope is a distant gleam.

Yet, rules are rules, they’re there for a reason,

But when survival calls, it feels like treason.

What if you’re caught, turned back at the gate?

Then I'll try again, endure the weight.

Can’t we find a path that’s lawful and right?

That path is narrow, barely in sight.

There must be a way, a bridge we can build,

A world with compassion, where hearts aren’t stilled.

Then let’s seek a solution, a place to start,

With justice and mercy, and an open heart.

sad poetryslam poetry

About the Creator

Stephane Kouame (Sirkwame)

I am Stephane Kouame, born in Marcory a Suburb of Abidjan in Cote d'ivoire, I immersed myself in the world of words from my childhood.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Stephane Kouame (Sirkwame)Written by Stephane Kouame (Sirkwame)

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.