Poets logo

"A Goodbye that Opens Paths: The Beauty of Lessons Learned"

personal reflection

By Jacob SánchezPublished about a year ago 2 min read
"A Goodbye that Opens Paths: The Beauty of Lessons Learned"
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

If I have to leave school and will never have the opportunity to tell you how I feel, I prefer to send you this unnoticed and perhaps unwanted message that expresses everything I feel about you. Meeting you was not a mistake; falling in love with you was never an error. The days I spent by your side were filled with joy, along with the memories we created. But life, like time, is short. The people we believe we love sometimes fail us, betray us, and make us believe that disappointment is all that exists in the world. And truth be told, I expected disappointment from everyone but you.

The beauty of life is that it always tries to show us the positives in things, that behind every mistake and bad thing that happens, there is a powerful lesson to learn. Unfortunately, the lesson I had to learn with you is that self-love is more important than the love of others. I don't hate you; I hold no grudges against you, nor do I wish for you to have a bad life. But I hoped that you would have the decency to at least not break a bond that we had been forming for years because of a mistake you made.

You know, despite everything, I tried to see the good in you and to mend things between us. And it wasn't enough to bring you down from the ego cloud you reside in. You are a bad person, and bad people make bad decisions. They face difficulties in whatever they have planned, not necessarily because things have to go wrong for them, but because life itself takes care of returning the pain caused in indescribable ways.

You distanced yourself from me at the moment when I least needed someone to leave me alone. I told you that my father has cancer, and you didn't care. I told you that I was kicked out of the house, and you didn't care. I told you that I'm having problems with my mother, and once again, you didn't care. You constantly disregard how others feel, and you don't mind hurting others with your actions. You are a bad person, and you are unaware of it.

I hope that over time, you will do everything possible to avoid causing more harm to yourself. Despite being the person who has hurt me the most in this life, I hope that others don't hurt you in the same way. I never wish for you to be hurt. As I promised in the past, what matters most to me is your peace and happiness. And now, with this final message that I will send you, I bid you farewell forever. I leave you with the tranquility of knowing that you were one of the best stories that could have ever happened to me.

If destiny gives you the courage to speak to me again, I promise to be better than the last time. I eagerly await seeing how amazing your life will be, but I await with even more anticipation to show you how incredible my life will be. Once again, I won't fail you with what I promise, and I promise that you will be proud to have been the cause of the success story I have to tell. It was and will always be an honor to have crossed paths with you. Thank you for absolutely everything.

JS

heartbreakperformance poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JSWritten by Jacob Sánchez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.