Poets logo

where evergreen grows

inspired by the 'In Eclipse' challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
14
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

Early summer days were the best times for growing; the

climbing ivy inside me grew rampantly then, weaving its tendrils this way and that, hiding the remains of my innocence

long since stolen by rough hands and narrowed halls.

Its tender sprouts bundled and cocooned my broken pieces,

pausing time just for a bit, lending me a brief

solace in blessed obscurity. And in those quiet moments, I remembered that my

evergreen could thrive in shadows.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for giving me a moment of your time :)

~

If you'd like to read the rest of my entries for this challenge, please check out the link below:

sad poetryAcrostic
14

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer7 days ago

    Beautiful ❤️

  • Brin J.9 days ago

    I love that phrase "I could thrive in shadows", as if darkness holds all our enemies and we have the power to conquer and tame them. <3

  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    Oh my, this was so beautifully grown in words of blossoming ivy from your soul. Really love the references here. Beautiful indeed.

  • Gina C.9 days ago

    This is so, so gorgeous. Such strength is displayed here. Your talent with words makes my heart skip a beat 🥹

  • Oooo, that last line was my favourite! Both your Acrostic and cover pic are so beautiful! What prompt did you use to get that pic?

  • Teresa Renton9 days ago

    That last line should be made into a poster 💕

  • Hannah Moore9 days ago

    Ooh, mike drop moment at the end there.

  • Grz Colm9 days ago

    Next level writing! Can you please tutor me for a small fee lol! Lots going on there that got under my skin! (In a good way -hah). Hope you are travelling well Heather.

  • It is brilliant for me!

  • This is lovely Heather 😍 love it and missed your works

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    Such a triumphant and impactful last line! And the description of stolen innocence was expertly crafted.

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Lovely absolutely lovely!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    I'm glad that evergreen could thrive in the shadows. 🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.