Poets logo

When You Left

a poem

By Daniel IngramPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4
When You Left
Photo by Watoker Derrick Okello on Unsplash

This piece is about the first person I ever fell in love with.

It was deep, all consuming, overwhelming, and frankly, toxic. The words are simple, but I reminisce about the absolute angst of that period of my life, and frankly, I consider it the starting point for what has been a very long and still ongoing journey of self discovery.

You left your ring on my finger.

You left your kiss on my lips.

You left your whisper in my ear.

You left your heart in my hands.

You left your hand on my shoulder.

You left your teeth on my neck.

You left your scent on my pillow.

You left your words in my head.

You left your smile on my face.

You left your gaze in my eyes.

You left your fingers in my hair.

You left our moon in the sky.

You left your magic in my circle.

You left your stars in my night.

You left your breath in my lungs.

You left your curse on my life.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Daniel Ingram

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manya Rawat8 months ago

    It's a nice poem. And the last line hits hard.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.