Poets logo

Star Sign

a dedication

By Daniel IngramPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Star Sign
Photo by Dario Brönnimann on Unsplash

I remember the traits of the zodiac signs by associating them with people close to me.

I know the grounded homey embrace of a stubborn Taurus as my mother.

the fiery temper of the outspoken Aries as my father.

I know the raw emotions of a sensitive Cancer to be more than one of my best friends

and the unyielding self-proclamation of superiority of the Capricorn as myself.

My brother is the free spirited Sagittarius, and my "Disney adult" of a former co-worker has the childlike heart of a Pisces.

The boys I like tend to be witty, but ultimately toxic, Scorpios.

Not every sign has a corresponding person in my life, though, and until recently, yours was one of those without.

From now on, I'll always remember your sign as the warmth of your smile and the adventerous nature of your spirit.

I'll think of your charisma and your allure, but I'll also remember the way you drove me crazy.

I'll consider how you always challenged me, and how every measurement of time was too small for you.

I'll remember how you made me feel safe and how no matter what disagreement we had, I always wanted to put my sword down first because more than anything in the world, I needed you.

From this moment forward, I will think of the sparks that I felt at your fingertips and the sweet sweet softness of your lips, and you will forever be my star representative of the stars you were born under.

From here on out, you'll always be my Virgo.

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Daniel Ingram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This is such a gorgeous love poem.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Beautiful and heartfelt!! I am a Cancer and all of my best friends are Cancers too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.