Poets logo

When Worlds Collide

A Story of Growth

By Kat BlissPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
When Worlds Collide
Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

Let me tell you a story.

This is the story of two people.

Two people with entire worlds inside them.

These worlds were large and loud and so desperately wanted to be heard.

But most of all, they wanted to be loved,

As all creatures on this beautiful planet do.

And in a world where it is so hard to find love,

These two people found each other.

They saw each other and they heard each other.

Together, they found their place in a world where they fought to be known.

And for some time, it was good.

They fell into their own bubble.

Their own existence where their two worlds could be together.

No one and nothing else mattered,

Except their love for one another.

But over time, as most things do, things changed.

One world began to take over the other.

It became bigger, it became scarier and it became louder.

The smaller world was forced to hide in itself once more.

It had to care for the bigger world, the monstrous world.

Those that resided in that world needed to be saved, protected.

But it was so hard.

The world was so small, and it again became unheard.

Unwanted.

Unloved. But this person loved with all their heart, and

Wanted the other to heal so they could be what they once were again.

It was no use.

But over time, it no longer mattered

That your presence was bigger than mine.

It didn’t matter what you needed any more.

I could give and give, and you would take and take.

I was broken, and you broke me more.

I changed for you, and I changed because of you.

I outgrew your games, and I found the truth behind your lies.

I saw you for what you really are.

I don’t think you ever cared or ever tried.

You are still a child, lost without a mother or father that care for you.

I am not your mother.

You have not grown.

And now I must grow without you.

Thank you for teaching me what love is not.

Thank you for showing me what I do not want.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kat Bliss

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.