Poets logo

When will I get home?

Home poem

By Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction. Published 3 years ago 1 min read

Home

I long for home.

I long for a home.

I write this poem about a place that does not exist.

At least not yet, but you can bet that I'll do my best,

to put to the test, my ability to make that happen.

Let me describe it.

Let me describe my dream home.

Where I long to go, when the day grows old

and I'm on my own.

A place of peace.

It's nice and clean.

The walls are hung with art, that's been made by friends.

There's photos too, of people I've met and things I've seen.

I have a pet,

at least one or two.

A furry companion, that's waiting there, on an easy chair.

When I come in and my day at work is finally through.

I want a kitchen.

One that's neat.

In a tidy place and I know where everything is,

that I might need, for making something good to eat.

I'd like a spare room,

or a comfy couch.

A place to sleep, when guests come by.

In a part of town, that's not too far, from something fun to do at night.

To me a home might be,

a place of my own.

Invariably, it could also be a place to raise a family.

It'd be nice to have a washroom, where I can walk between

the sink and my shower, or bath.

Just a place I can call my own.

Just a place that I call home.

It's been so long now and I just don't know,

when I ever, or will I ever, be able to go home again.

love poems

About the Creator

Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction.

Raised in Ancaster, Ont. I write about what I know and survived. Apart from tales of my youth, I am writing a horror story for the Fiction-Horror section of the library. Met an old homeless guy He told me, "Everyone has their own story."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction. Written by Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.