Poets logo

When someone's writing is better than yours

A comic and haiku about this baffling phenomenon

By J. JayPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
39
Drawn by me :)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I should not compare

Brilliant prose to my own

But it’s addicting

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Next:

---------------------------------

Previous:

humorHaikuFor Funart
39

About the Creator

J. Jay

I like to share my art and writings, whether it's silly or serious. I'll also feature a comic I work on called Writing Whoas, which is about the joys and hardships of being a writer. Stick around to laugh or cry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    Amazing graphics! And yes I could totally relaatee looll ❤️❤️❤️

  • Anna 2 months ago

    So relatable😭😭😭 I always feel like I'm not enough😭 Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Clever and I love the drawings!! T.S. 👏🎉

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Hey, top story!! Congratulations!!

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Oh dear, I fear I identify with this too much. Love the humor and stark truth we are probably all too familiar with.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    It's going to happen, so you have to roll with it...and crawl, grovel, beg, plead, etc... ;)

  • Hailey2 months ago

    I love the images! this was such a fun read

  • This is very funny. The cartoons are great. Sans punctuation, grammar, and structure I believe that "better writing" is very subjective. I stay far away from comparing my writing to others. I simply enjoy writing what I write and I enjoy reading what others write.

  • Sady Bayne 2 months ago

    Love this. If you like reading prose, checkout my most recent prose called A Feeble Word on my page, but maybe try not to compare :) Because better or worse is subjective anyways. its all a trap

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    So true! I can’t keep up with these writers. Their intelligence is insulting 😂😂 jk

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Hahaha. Those cartoons are awesome. Love it! Congrats on the TS.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    This is so freaking awesome and hilarious 😂 I love your art and your bubbly personality so much 💕👌😂🥰☺️♥️♥️♥️

  • J. Jay, you've done a comic that brilliantly depicts the typical writer's difficulty of feeling inadequate in the face of another person's outstanding work, plus you've added a hilarious touch with your haiku.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    This is soooo wonderfully done!!! The artwork/comic and haiku are a great pairing. Also, this is such a real feeling! Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Very funny and true!!! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    It’s Funny how I can admit that I got this very feeling after reading stories yesterday. It made looking at my own drafts feel as if some deranged toddler wrote them 😂. Thank you for this! We can only get better.

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Hey, top story!! Congratulations!!

  • Blake Booth2 months ago

    The pain is real... like all the time... addicting... inspirational... depressing... all at once.

  • ema2 months ago

    Your comics are wonderful! 🤣 But now I am jealous 😡 😂

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh2 months ago

    Spot.On. and funny!

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    🤣🤣 "teach me your ways" so funny!! 🥰

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    LOL those comics! I totally lost it at 3 and 4. And, yeah....relatable! It is addicting, isn't it? I never thought about that much before.

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    First, I love your comics! And I think we can all relate at one time or another 💖

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    I'm in this picture and I don't like it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.