Poets logo

Pain in the Back

A comic and poem about writer's back pain -_-

By J. JayPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
12
Drawn by me :)

Word Hunt

Ow, my back.

I’m hunched up like a crab,

writing and crowding

my many notepads.

- - - - -

Why sit like a princess

and pick at my words?

When I can scuttle like squirrels

far out in the woods?

- - - - -

Words like to grow

so I get on their level.

- - - - -

They leak into reality

and I chase them;

though,

they often laugh at me.

- - - - -

Words

are like a cloaked old woman.

They’ll only speak

when you lean forward

- - - - -

And

listen.

---------------------------------

Next:

---------------------------------

Previous:

childrens poetryhumorFor Funart
12

About the Creator

J. Jay

I like to share my art and writings, whether it's silly or serious. I'll also feature a comic I work on called Writing Whoas, which is about the joys and hardships of being a writer. Stick around to laugh or cry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Good one, loved it!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Ooh, that ending, I love it. "Words are like a cloaked old woman. They’ll only speak when you lean forward - - - - - And listen." The number of times I've sat back in my chair and had no ideas, only to lean over my keyboard and type away...TOO ACCURATE.

  • Hahahahahahahahaha I think this whole thing is about me! I loved it!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Love it! Awesome poem!

  • Ruby Red3 months ago

    have you met me before? coz as a student, this is EXTREMELY accurate. And being a bookworm probably doesn't help either. ow. this was a great read and i love your drawings too <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.