Poets logo

When Our Eyes Met

A Feeling of Bliss

By patricia andersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

It’s said the eyes are the windows of the soul

Well, I don’t know.

But when I looked into your eyes,

I felt calm waters and the warmth of a sunrise.

I felt bliss, no matter how scary the world is.

Suddenly, hope and light replaced doubt and fright.

For your eyes, like a flashlight in the dark

Created in me a spark.

It didn’t matter that you were across the room,

Your eyes never wavering made me assume,

That all the storybooks were right

Cause something happened that night.

Then you moved in a little closer,

I stopped drinking and felt a lot sober.

“Ok, is he coming over to me?

I’m feeling so nervous, I think I have to pee!”

So I put my drink down

Took a deep breath and vowed not to frown.

It had been a long time, you see

That something like this happened to me.

So I didn’t want it to blow up in my face,

Just in case he could be my saving grace.

With all these thoughts racing around in my head,

I felt skittish and began to dread.

I doubted and feared

That I might appear weird.

Every scenario played out in my mind,

Worry and stress all combined.

When suddenly I see, he was standing right in front of me,

We laughed and talked,

We had so much in common, I thought.

My nerves and fears melted away,

Much like ice cream on a hot summer day.

And just like that our eyes met.

Truly you were no threat,

Instead, you became the love of my life.

And I, your wife.

So if you see someone staring at you from across the room,

Don’t be quick to give them the broom.

Cause who knows, someday, he might be your groom.

love poems

About the Creator

patricia anderson

I was a teacher for 19 years and now writing is my passion.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    patricia andersonWritten by patricia anderson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.