Poets logo

A Parisian Winter

Poppy’s July Prompts!

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 2 days ago 1 min read
A Parisian Winter
Photo by Eliška Doležalová on Unsplash

I saw something bizarre in the newspaper today!

It struck a strange reverberating chord

A sweet young girl, who looks the spitting image of…

Me!

No way!

Wait!

How can that be?

A sneaking serpent of suspicion rears its despicable head…

My vision blurs

My head spins like a coastal whirlpool

I stiffen my limp spine instead

This is no story of mine! What a fool!

Snatching deep gulps of breath… my sight clears a touch

As if gazing in a golden mirror

My very image stares out of the newspaper photo

Except…

I’ve never visited the Eiffel Tower!

Never worn a tartan skirt nor

Met the dashing heartthrob clasping me in a tight embrace… what a flirt!

I sure look like I’ve taken quite the fall

Squinting for a better look

I spy my strawberry birthmark, subtly gracing my slightly turned cheek

The air shimmers, ripples, rips with a sigh

Oh my!

I gasp!

I really am leaning into his tender clasp

I give a surprised squeak

A chill wind whips my hair over my shoulder

My heart skips a peculiar little tap dance

I wonder…

Is it possible to step into a parallel universe?

***

Inspired by Poppy’s July Prompts!

For Funfact or fiction

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading, especially fiction and poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 😳

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

Painting Pandemonium Top Story February 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Carmen Henigina day ago

    Oooo! This one is fun! Love the possibilities!

  • D.K. Sheparda day ago

    What an intriguing narrative poem, Angie! I loved this wholeheartedly from start to finish!! And great use of Poppy’s words!

  • Excellent entry! Loved the suspense.

  • Whoaaaa whoaaaa whoaaaa!! You did this so fast! And it was sooooo suspenseful, kept me wondering! And the idea of a parallel universe, loved that concept! You executed this so brilliantly!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 days ago

    Wow! Quick on the draw with this one. It's a clear example of the muse hard at work to inspire this wonderful poem. 💖

  • The concluding lines leave us with a sense of anticipation, as the air shimmers and ripples with an enigmatic sigh, great work!

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Written by Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.