Poets logo

The Night It Happened

Beautiful Stare

By patricia andersonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read

The night was long and everything felt wrong.

I missed him and my heart ached, any minute I was about to break.

Why was this always happening to me? Guy number three and life’s still messy.

After the fall, I felt so small. What’s the deal with this love and all?

Does it even exist? Or is it just some far off myth?

My friends said, “Go out and have fun!” So we hit the nightclub. I felt so numb.

Then I saw you there, looking at me, your eyes filled with intensity.

Was I dreaming? Was I drunk? Yep, this was surely a liquored up funk.

But as I looked over at you again, your eyes were still there in a beautiful stare, …staring at me. Could this even be?

I tried not looking, but seeing you was so alluring.

“Ok, now I know I’m drunk, right?” I said to my friend that night.

“Do you see that guy over there staring at me?” My friend thought I was crazy.

“What guy? What do you mean?” she replied checking out the scene.

When I looked over again, he was gone. How could I be so wrong?

“Oh well,” I began to think, “time for another drink.”

When I turned around, that guy was found, standing right behind me.

My heart beat raced, I couldn’t believe what I faced.

It felt like a movie, camera zooming in, this was so groovy.

“Uh…” I awkwardly said and turned back around to face my friend.

“What are you doing? Talk to him!” She cried, but I couldn’t even if I tried.

The music played and I stayed, not knowing what to do, I felt like a fool.

When I turned again, it happened, our eyes met, what a passion!

My heart raced, I sobered up fast, whatever it was, I hoped this would last.

He was so cute, his eyes so green, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.

I felt so shy, I thought I would cry, but to my amazement, he said “hi.”

The rest as you know is history; we’ve been married 26 years, victory.

That night in the club, I wasn’t given the snub.

We talked and danced, I could see he was entranced.

I will never forget the night our eyes met.

love poems

About the Creator

patricia anderson

I was a teacher for 19 years and now writing is my passion.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    patricia andersonWritten by patricia anderson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.