Poets logo

When It Is Safe: The Poems

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
When It Is Safe: The Poems
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

You may be familiar with Real Poetic's recent challenge: Secret Writers.

The prompt: Write a historical microfiction that takes place in the 1800s from the perspective of a slave in America that can secretly read and write.

In the original version of When It Is Safe, I wrote a poem that was supposed to be included, but had to be taken out since it interfered with the required word count. I still wanted to share it everyone, so I decided to create this separate piece with said poem and one more. I hope you enjoy!

***

By Gabriel Alenius on Unsplash

Pure and Untainted

Momma always said I should be pure and untainted like fresh fallen snow,

untouched by even the sterling of heaven, the insects of the field, and the doe.

But, alas, your lips have touched mine and tainted me with desire,

and every forbidden glance pulls me deeper into this quagmire.

I do not wish to be saved from this even if in the face of death.

This I believe until the day I exhale my final breath;

the only things in life that should be pure is love

And the snow as it is falling from above.

***

By Kenrick Mills on Unsplash

White Vapor & Seeds

I wish my secrets were like the white vapor

I release into the frigid morning air so I might escape them.

Here for only a moment and gone again,

sent away to dwell in a faraway realm.

Instead, they are seeds imbedded in the back of my throat

from where falsehoods and misery sprout forth.

Flowers and sweet perfume only distract

as the choking vines grow, set on completing their deadly course.

***

sad poetrynature poetrylove poemsFor Fun
5

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.