Fiction logo

Secret Writer Challenge!

Write a microfiction to win tips!

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
47
Arta created image

Welcome back to another challenge! 🎉

The prompt: Write a historical microfiction that takes place in the 1800s from the perspective of a slave in America that can secretly read and write.

Qualifications:

*Your story must occur February in the 1800s.

*Word count is 350-400 words.

*Submitted to the fiction community.

*Link your story down below in the comment section after publishing.

🥇 1st Place: $30.00

🥈2nd Place: $20.00

🥉3rd Place: $10.00

The deadline to participate is 02/28/2024.

The winners will be announced and rewarded on 02/29/2024.

I’m very hyped to see what you all come up with for this prompt! I’m always blown away by the level of creativity on this platform.

Best wishes!

-R.P. ❤️

Entries:

HistoricalMicrofiction
47

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a month ago

    Just to let you know I have updated the link to the winners' stories on my entry and posted to my LinkedIn network. https://vocal.media/fiction/christ-has-set-us-free

  • Steel2 months ago

    Amazing! your talent is undeniable. Congratulations to all the winners of your challenge.

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Finally posting this thing written days ago. https://vocal.media/fiction/secrets-of-a-queen-bee

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Here's my second attemptfor the challenge⬇️ https://vocal.media/fiction/last-words-9d50qi5

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Intrigiung challenge, RP! I'll see what I can come up with.

  • I'm working on an idea for this but it's going to be hard to make it a micro fiction. Great prompt

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Here you go! And happy Friday! https://vocal.media/fiction/cotton-nn5j0ict

  • Many thanks Real Poetic for considering my story. Appreciate you.

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I wonder if I can find a story in my head. I will try my best. Great topic for February. Generous offerings. Congrats on TS.

  • Thavien Yliaster3 months ago

    Hmmm... okay, I might give this a bite.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Hi! Here's my recreated story, please don't say it's AI generated, I've worked on it for days... https://vocal.media/fiction/the-candy-merchant

  • Matt Sharon3 months ago

    Great Challenge!! Advance Congratulations to Top Story!!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Awesome challenge!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Hi, just published my story for this challenge: https://vocal.media/fiction/forbidden-fruit-d5ei0drb

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Nice challenge, but I can't do fiction, sure you well get lots of entries

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story RP!! I hope you get some more great entries!!

  • Naomi Gold3 months ago

    SUCH a good prompt! 🩷

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    There ya go. Congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Yay - glad to see this on the front page where it belongs. Congrats on a fine top story - hope it gets you more entries! :)

  • Test3 months ago

    Here you go my attempt x 🤍 https://vocal.media/fiction/sparrow-dn2hw001x

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Well, I am so on this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.